Skip to content
Back to template gallery
GitHub
GitHub

How to Delete a Repository in GitHub

If you don't want to display an old project on GitHub anymore, or you just want to get rid of some unused Repositories, you can easily delete them from GitHub in a few steps

IT & Engineering
6 steps 2 min Community template
1

Open the repository you want to delete on GitHub.

Open the repository you want to delete on GitHub.

github.com
Open the repository you want to delete on GitHub.
2

Click the Settings tab

Click the Settings tab in the repository navigation menu to access repository configuration options.

github.com
Click the Settings tab
3

Next, scroll all the way down to the bottom of the page and hit Delete this Repository.

Click the "Delete this repository" button located in the Danger Zone section at the bottom of the page.

github.com
Next, scroll all the way down to the bottom of the page and hit Delete this Repository.
4

Click the confirmation label

Click the label above the input field in the delete repository modal to focus the text box.

github.com
Click the confirmation label
5

Click the Password input field

Click the Password input field in the center of the page to enter your credentials.

github.com
Click the Password input field
6

Click the success message banner

Click the success message banner at the top of the page to dismiss the notification.

github.com
Click the success message banner

Make this walkthrough your own

Duplicate this template, swap in your own screens, and share it with your team. Free to start — no credit card.